Loving Love

It’s Valentine’s Day, y’all! And I’m sitting here, typing away on my computer, thinking about how in the hell I’m going to kill off this annoying character. It’s not easy writing fantasy romance, while worrying about how to kill people, getting to the grocery, getting cards for my kids, getting them to soccer on time, figuring out which sexy outfit to wear (not for the kids, Deborah–for my husband! Sicko). I thought the day of love was supposed to be … lovely. But it’s really just stressing me the F out. And the next person who asks, “What’s for dinner?” dies. I will seriously kill you, like the character in this book. Seriously.

No, Deborah, it’s not my grandmother getting murdered this time. It’s … well, I can’t tell you because I haven’t finished the damned book. It’s super-secret info. If I told you, I’d have to kill you. So, I guess you’re the character. Kidding! Can you tell I’ve had too much coffee? I kind of feel like I have ADD right now. I have a million things to do and I just want to write.

Why can’t I just do what I wanna do when I wanna do it? Oh, because I’m not 3? Okay. Yes, Copernicus, I know I’m not the center of the universe. But sometimes I really want to be, for like three hours in a row. Can I get three hours? All you humans out there juggling 50 balls in the air right now, you get it. It’s not that I don’t love the balls I’m juggling. I just want to focus on one of them without the other balls getting all pissy and whiney about it. Know what I mean?

And now I feel guilty about bitching on love-day. And that ticks me off. I seem to be an angry elf today. Wait, what day is it? Oh, yes, it’s PMS Day 1. Totally makes sense now. Thank god there’s chocolate in the house. Everyone is safe. Crisis averted.

Thanks for talking me down, Universe. That was a close one.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

