Getting Selective

kdp-blog-post

I’ve gone back and forth and back and forth on this decision. And I finally came to a conclusion. I don’t really know what I’m doing. In daily life, I’m okay (yes, Deborah, I’m being serious). But when it comes to this marketing thing for my books? No freakin’ way.

When I first published, all the way back in September of 2016, I had decided to go wide. That means I published everywhere (Amazon, Apple, Barnes and Noble, Sony, etc.). But then I got tangled in the weeds. So many articles and data on how to promote this and you need to post here, but watch out because you can’t have more than one thread per book. What in the ever loving hell did that mean? I had to Google ‘thread’ and figure it out. That was after I got blocked by a moderator because, apparently, I’m a moron. Thank god I use a pen name.

So, to simplify my life for the next 90 days, I unpublished everywhere except Amazon. I enrolled in Select, and scheduled my first free book day (details will be below, Deborah–you need to calm down, we all know you’re cheap as hell). I posted something on KBoards, which I didn’t even know existed until three days ago. Yeah, yeah, I’m not 22. I don’t know shit. Thanks for reminding me.

But I gotta tell ya, I feel good about this. It’s the first time I could easily make my book free on Amazon. And I like that. I know I get $0.00 from ‘free’ sales. But I think it’s a great way to promote the fact that the second book in the series will come out 2/23/17. I’ll let you know how it goes. Or not. If you hear about a trail of fire and brimstone scattered across the Midwest in a week or so, you’ll know.

Now let’s get down and dirty, y’all:
1. Working On It (Book 1) will be FREE 2/18/17, then $0.99 through 2/23/17
2. Working For It (Book 2) releases 2/23/17 and is available for Pre-Order now ($2.99)
3. Both are free on KU
4. Both have paperback versions (not free!)

Much love and happy reading! If you have any thoughts on KDP Select (good, bad, ugy), I’m open to suggestions (that’s what she said). 😉

3 thoughts on “Getting Selective

  1. I’ve just put my first release on Select. It’s a collection of short stories, but I’m hoping it will help build a bit of an audience before I release my novel length work. Whether it works or not – time will tell! Keep us updated with how you find it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

