Giving It Away

feb-18-promo-stats

I ran my first KDP Select Free Day on Saturday, February 18, 2017. And I have to say, it was pretty damned exciting watching my numbers throughout the day. Yeah, yeah, I know I didn’t make any money. But I did post some numbers that I’ll brag about to people I know and that makes it worth it (Yes, Deborah, I’m that shallow–don’t act like you don’t know me).

The picture above shows my best numbers, as far as I know. I don’t know if I got any higher because on Saturday I had a head cold, a kid with strep throat, another kid I almost forgot to pick up from soccer, and forty million other things I had to take care of. So I was exhausted. I was asleep by 10 p.m.

And I’m super pissed that I didn’t check my numbers at the end of the promo because I was off in Slumber Town. At the time the pic was taken, maybe around 9 p.m., I was #21 in the Romance>Sports sub genre, and #92 in the Romance>New Adult & College sub genre. I broke into two top 100 lists. It felt amazing! And that was with 200-some-odd downloads. I ended the night with 316 downloads. So I’m guessing I went a little higher in the lists.

And there’s probably a way to check it, but that would require some effort on my part, which I’m not so interested in figuring out. I mean, did you not hear me tell you about the head cold and the strep throat and Child Protective Services? Okay, okay, nobody called CPS, but I was seriously late to practice. Hello, Mommy Guilt. It’s been all of three days since I’ve seen you.

Also, my Sales Rank (Free) was 1,188, which is pretty freakin’ great for me. I’m lucky to get below 100k. So, yeah, I feel good about the one free day I ran with KDP Select. It’s my hope that the readers enjoy the book and will tell people. Or buy the second. Or, at the very least, leave a review. Why do I have to beg for reviews. Author friends, if I ever read your book, I swear to all that is holy on this Earth that I will leave you a review. They’re part of the magic algorithm for helping your book move up the magic list.

Oh, and the best part? I didn’t pay a penny for any advertising or promotions. I annoyingly Tweeted all day using a variety of hashtags, I put a post on the Kindle forum (don’t ask, I don’t even know how I found it, or what ‘it’ really is…I probably accidentally put my name on a list to adopt a goat from South America). And some very lovely author friends re-Tweeted.

I don’t know if this will turn into future sales for Book 2, or if word-of-mouth will start for Book 1, but tonight I don’t really care. I’m drinking some cheap wine and toasting myself for doing something very few others have. And that feels damn good. Too bad I used a pen name and can’t tell very many people.

Leave a Reply

